The November 10 School Committee Meeting began with a presentation on the Business, Entrepreneurship & Finance Innovation Pathway at Barnstable High School from Ginny Turner (History, Social Sciences & Business Curriculum Coordinator) and the students participating in the pathway.  You can watch the student’s video presentation here.  During Public Comment and the School Committee’s comment, the public and School Committee recognized and thanked School Committee members Barbara Dunn and Stephanie Ellis for their service, as this was both of their last meetings as School Committee members. Stephanie served on the School Committee for 12 years and Barbara served on the School Committee for 4 years.  We thank them for their service and wish them the best in their future endeavors!

The School Committee approved the Superintendent’s Comprehensive Summative Evaluation.  Two new members were added to the Subcommittee for the Superintendent Search.  The School Committee approved signing bonus for bus drivers and wage rate increases for bus drivers, bus monitors, van drivers, and the transportation dispatcher.  If you are interested in becoming a school bus driver or monitor for Barnstable Public Schools, please call Transportation Director Sandy Gifford at 508-790-6478.

The Facilities Director, Mike Lambros, discussed the current Capital Improvement Projects and the Plan for FY’23.  The main project currently being worked on is the new stadium turf field.  It will be a two-phase project with tearing up the old turf this Fall and laying down the new turf this Spring.  The goal is to have the new stadium turf field ready for play on April 1, 2022.  School Department projects that were submitted to the Capital Improvement Projects Committee for review include replacement rooftop unit ventilators, door and window replacements, emergency generators, tennis court replacement at BHS, fuel pump/vehicle lift replacement for Transportation and Facilities, paving and sidewalks, mechanical upgrades, flooring, and transformer upgrades.

We would like to welcome the two new members of the School Committee, Peter Goode and Andre King, who were elected on November 2 and were sworn in by the Town Clerk on November 15.  Their first School Committee meeting will be on December 1.  Welcome and Congratulations to Peter and Andre!